IELTS is an exam which is taken by those students who are looking to kick start their career in countries where the English language is the core language. Countries like the UK, US, Canada and Australia accept the IELTS score and give admission to aspirants after measuring their ability and skills in four domains- listening, writing, speaking and reading. This exam has become a leader in the international higher education area with a massive record of 3.5 million students appearing in 2018 for it.

Eligibility criteria

There are no specific eligibility criteria set by the conducting bodies IDP and British council to appear in the examination. However, it would help if you had a basic understanding of the English language as it is the majorly speaking language in foreign countries.


IELTS score is accepted in every country where the English language is the primary language. Most popular countries where students apply for university admissions are UK, US, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

IELTS Syllabus and Test Format

The IELTS exam is conducted in two formats- Academic and General. The General test is preferred by those candidates who wish to go for secondary education in English speaking countries and gain work experience too. While the academic test is preferred by those who want to pursue higher education in anywhere abroad.

There are four sections in an IELTS exam-

  • Listening
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Speaking

Test centres and date

IELTS test can be given anytime according to your preference. Dates are available multiple times a year. Also, the test centres are available across major cities in India.


How to apply?

The steps to apply in IELTS include-

  • Log in or create an account on the official website
  • Select the ‘register’ option
  • Select the test date and city
  • Fill in the application form
  • Pay the fee